How to setup a Chromebook
with a school account.

Objectives

  • Become the Chromebooks owner
  • Add a Child account
  • Turn off Guest Mode

This is important to do, so you’re certain that when your child is using their Chromebook on any network, they are signed in with their school Google account or a Family Zone protected personal account. If you do not do this, then they can sign in with an unmanaged account, or as a ‘guest’, and will not be protected.

Become the Owner of the Chromebook

This is essential, as only the ‘Owner’ of the Chromebook can determine the accounts that can sign into the device. Think of the ‘Owner’ as the administrator of the device. To become the ‘owner’ account, you must be the first person to sign into the device with a Google account when, the first time the device is used. If you do not have a Google account ( eg someone@gmail.com) you can create one easily by following this link: https://accounts.google.com/SignUp?hl=en

When you have a new device choose “For personal use” and sign in with your parent account.

What if my child signed into the Chromebook first?

If someone else (eg your child) was the first Google account to sign in, then THEY will already be the owner. This isn’t a problem and is easy to fix — simply reset the device by following the instructions linked to below. Then sign in with YOUR Google account username and password. You will then be the ‘owner’ of the Chromebook.

Need to reset the Chromebook? Follow steps in either option 1 or 2:
Factory reset your Chromebook
Option 1: Reset using shortcut keys

1. Sign out of your Chromebook.
2. Press and hold Ctrl + Alt + Shift + r.
3. Select Restart.
4. In the box that appears, select Powerwash > Continue.
5. Follow the steps that appear and sign in with your Google Account.
Note: The account you sign in with after you reset your Chromebook will be
the owner account.
6. Once you’ve reset your Chromebook:
Follow the onscreen instructions to set up your Chromebook.

Option 2: Reset using the Settings menu

1. Sign in to your Chromebook.
2. At the bottom right, select the time.
3. Select Settings icon .
4. At the bottom, select Advanced.
5. In the “Powerwash” section, select Powerwash > Restart.
6. In the box that appears, select Powerwash > Continue.
7. Follow the steps that appear and sign in with your Google Account.
Note: The account you sign in with after you reset your Chromebook will be
the owner account.
8. Once you’ve reset your Chromebook:
Follow the onscreen instructions to set up your Chromebook.

Taken from: https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/183084?hl=en

Add your childs school account

From the login screen choose “Add Person” >> “For a child” >> “Child’s school account” and log the child in with their @wanaka.school.nz account.

Restrict access to your child’s account

Restrict sign-ins

Let only certain people sign in to your Chromebook

  1. Sign in to the Chromebook with the owner account.
  2. At the bottom right, select the time.
  3. Select Settings .
  4. Under “Privacy and security” select Manage other people.
  5. Turn on Limit who can sign-in.
  6. You’ll see a list of all the Google Accounts on your Chromebook.
    • You can add or remove accounts from this list.

Taken from: https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/1059252?hl=en

Turn off Guest browsing

This is important as it means your child must sign in with a known Google account and cannot browse as a guest. If they can browse as a guest, then the Family Zone software will not load and they will not be protected.

When guest browsing is turned off, users need to sign in with their Google Accounts to use your Chromebook. Learn more about guest browsing.

  • If you’re signed in as a guest, sign out.
  • Sign in to your Chromebook using the owner account.
  • At the bottom right, select the time.
  • Select Settings .
  • Under “Privacy and security,” select Manage other people.
  • Turn off Guest browsing

Taken from: https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/1059252?hl=en

IMPORTANT: You should regularly check your child’s device to ensure that they have not reset it themselves. If they do reset it, then they can become the owner and remove the restrictions you have set up. To check, simply power on the device and check the accounts that appear on the sign in screen. Your account should have say ‘owner’ next to it, and there should not be a link to browse as a ‘guest’. If this is not the case, then complete the steps above to regain ownership of the  device and restrict who can sign in.